Good Night Oppy age rating: Is the movie suitable for kids?

It’s time to see Opportunity’s 90-day mission turn into 15 years of data. Is Good Night Oppy something to watch with the kids? We need to look at the age rating for the movie.

The Mars Exploration Rover, Opportunity, went out on a three-month mission to collect data. Everything was standing against her on the mission when it came to Mars’s atmosphere. If the team could get the full 90 days out of her, they’d be happy.

What they actually got was 15 years of data. Opportunity collected it all, and she became a part of many hearts throughout her journey. Now it’s time to see that journey in Good Night Oppy.

The movie drops tonight. The official release time is midnight UK time on Wednesday, Nov. 23, but there is a chance we’ll get it at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. You’ll want to check it out right away, but do you need to wait for the kids to go to bed?

Good Night Oppy age rating

What is the official age rating? This is classed as a PG movie, which means that it is definitely suitable for the majority of people in your household. There’s no need to wait for the kids to go to bed unless you think they’ll just keep interrupting the story.

This will be fascinating to a lot of kids. Didn’t we all find something about space intriguing when we were kids? Didn’t we want to learn more about the planets? This is a great chance to learn more about Mars through the eyes of a robot that exceeded all expectations.

There is also the element of humanity in the story through the connection to Opportunity. Sure, she’s a machine, but she became a child for so many creators.

Good Night Oppy is on Prime Video on Wednesday, Nov. 23.