The Man in the High Castle: 20 things you need to know about the Amazon Original Series

Image: Amazon
Image: Amazon /
5 of 21
Image: Kentucky Sports Radio /

4. In the series, the United States is divided into three parts: The Japanese Pacific States, The Rocky Mountain States, and the Great Nazi Reich.

The idea of American controlled by two foreign powers is a little difficult to understand, so let’s break it out down.

In The Man in the High Castle, the West Coast of the United States to the Rocky Mountains is controlled by Japan and are known as the Japanese Pacific States.

The Rocky Mountain States, which are basically from Idaho-Montana all the way South through Colorado to the Mexican border, are considered a neutral zone, controlled by both Japan and the Nazis together.

The land from the Rocky Mountains all the way to the East Coast is known as the Great Nazi Reich and, obviously, is controlled by the Nazis.

As mentioned, the book focuses on the West Coast of the U.S. and almost entirely takes place in the Japanese Pacific States. However, the TV series tells stories about characters in each of the three regions and moving from form region to region.

Next: Most-Watched Amazon Pilot